2019 Sani2c Race Wrap

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

2019 Sani2c Race Wrap

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp

The 2019 edition of the world’s biggest mountain bike stage race, the KAP sani2c, wrapped up at its new race finish at the Scottburgh Golf Club, with riders unanimous that the three day race was the best ever.

With around 4000 riders taking part over the three races, the Trail, the Adventure and the Race, mild, clear and windless Autumn weather and trails that rode optimally left many seasoned sani2c veterans stunned and happy to agree that the 2019 event has never been matched before.

The race was won by the 2017 champions Matthys Beukes and Phil Buys of the PYGA Euro Steel team, with Sam Sanders and Robyn de Groot winning a very close race for the women’s title for dormakaba from Galileo Risk’s Theresa Ralph and Sarah Hill.

The 87km first stage took the riders from Glencairn Farm outside Himeville to the Mackenzie Club close to Highflats, while the Queens stage the next day took riders through the Umkomaas Valley to the Jolivet macadamia Farm, close on 100km away. The final stage of 86km ended at the Golf Club in the South Coast town of Scottburgh.

The race employs 2850 people every year and ploughs millions back into community organisations, schools and crèches in the process.2019 KAP SANI2C RACE
1.PYGA Euro Steel 1 (Matthys Beukes/Phil Buys) 08:48:44
2.NAD Pro MTB Team (Matt Beers/Stuart Marais) 08:53:09
3.DSV Pro Cycling (Arno du Toit/Gert Heyns) 08:56:42 

1.dormakaba (Sam Sanders/Robyn de Groot) 10:13:55
2.Galileo Risk (Theresa Ralph/Sarah Hill) 10:17:53
3.Bell Equipment (Heyley Smith/Desiree Verwey) 11:27:56

1.Cycle Nation – Sandton City (Joanna van de Winkel/Tijl van de Winkel) 10:37:49
2.Ryder Innovation (Sanet Coetzee/Martin van der Westhuizen) 10:51:31
3.Tantigatti 1 (Fiddy Gey van Pittius/Callan Sexton) 10:58:28

Source: Gameplan Media

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like: